Sara Lazar's Meditation Research website Mass General HospitalHarvard Medical School
Come meet our team See our research Participate Some interesting quotes Some interesting links back to the front page back to the front page  

Some of the Buddha's lists

Four Noble Truths
  1. Suffering exists
  2. Suffering arises from attachment to desires
  3. Suffering ceases when attachment ot desire ceases
  4. Freedom from suffering is possible by practicing the Eightfold Path
Three Characteristics of Existence
  1. Transiency (anicca)
  2. Sorrow (dukkha)
  3. Selflessness (anatta)
The Four Foundations of Mindfulness
Mindfulness of the body and breath
Mindfulness of feelings
Mindfulness of the mind
Mindfulness of the mental objects
Noble Eightfold Path
Right View
Right Thought
Right Speech
Right Action
Right Livelihood
Right Effort
Right Mindfulness
Right Contemplation
Five Aggregates (skandhas)
  1. Form (rupa) is made up of earth water fire and wind
  2. Feeling (vedana) is one of pleasant, unplesant and neutral. Feelings arise when there is contact between the six internal organs and the six external objects .
  3. Perception (samjna)is related to the six external objects (sight, sound, odor, taste, touch, mental objects)
  4. Volition (samskara) is the response of the will to the six external objects
  5. Consciousness (vijnana) grasps the characteristics of the six external objects
Four Boundless States (brahmaviharas)
StateNear EnemyFar EnemyDescription
1. Metta/loving kindnessSelfish loveHatred good-will, friendship, extending unlimited, universal love and good will to all living beings without any kind of discrimination, 'just as a mother loves her only child'
2. Karuna/compassionpitycruelty empathy, to feel with someone instead of for someone. Apply to all living beings who are suffering, in trouble, and affliction
3. Mudita/sympathetic joyhypocrisyenvy spontaneous joy in response to others success and welfare
4. Upekkha/equanimityindifferenceanxiety even-mindedness based on insight into the nature of things
Seven Factors of Enlightment
  1. Mindfulness
  2. Investigation
  3. Energy
  4. Rapture
  5. Tranquility
  6. Concentration
  7. Equanimity
Ten Perfections (paramis)
  1. Generosity (dana)
  2. Morality (sila)
  3. Renunciation (nekkhamma)
  4. Wisdom (panna)
  5. Energy (viriya)
  6. Patience (khanti)
  7. Truthfulness (sacca)
  8. Resolution (adhitthana)
  9. Loving-Kindness (metta)
  10. Equanimity (upekkha)
Five Hindrances
  1. Sensuous lust
  2. Aversion and ill will
  3. SLoth and torpor
  4. Restlessness and worry
  5. Skeptical doubt
Ten Fetters of Existence
  1. Self-delusion
  2. Doubt
  3. Clinging to Ritual
  4. Sensuous Lust
  5. Ill Will
  6. Greed for Fine Material Existence
  7. Greed for Immaterial Existence
  8. Conceit
  9. Reslessness
  10. Ignorance
"Life is painful. Suffering is optional." - Sylvia Boorstein